All You Need To Know About Ahmadu Bello University Zaria (ABU)


All You Need To Know About Ahmadu Bello University Zaria (ABU)

Ahmadu Bello University abbreviated ‘ABU’ is one of the federal universities in Nigeria situated at Zaria, Kaduna State, North-Western part of Nigeria.

ABU is one of the earliest federal government established universities in the year 1962 with its main campus in Samaru and an extension campus in Kongo both in Zaria. The university also has a pre-degree school in Funtua which is very close to the main campus as well as three affiliated institutions.

Ahmadu Bello University has thirteen faculties, four schools and colleges, six institutes, twelve centres, and three directorates.


Faculties In Ahmadu Bello University

  • Administration
  • Agriculture
  • Arts
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Design
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Medicine
  • Physical Sciences
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Social Science
  • Veterinary Medicine

List Of Courses Offered At Ahmadu Bello University

  • Accounting
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Agricultural Extension
  • Agricultural Science
  • Anatomy
  • Arabic Studies
  • Archaeology
  • Architecture
  • Biochemistry
  • Biology
  • Botany
  • Building
  • Business Administration
  • Business Education
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Education /Mathematics
  • Education Arts
  • Education/Agricultural Science
  • Education/Biology
  • Education/Chemistry
  • Education/Christian Religious Studies
  • Education/Computer Science
  • Education/Geography
  • Education/Hausa
  • Education/Home Economics
  • Education/Integrated Science
  • Education/Islamic Religious Studies
  • Education/Physics
  • Education/Religious Studies
  • Educational Administration & Planning
  • Electrical Engineering
  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Fine Arts
  • French
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Glass Technology
  • Guidance and Counseling
  • Hausa
  • History
  • Industrial Design
  • Insurance
  • International Studies
  • Law
  • Library And Information Science
  • Local Government & Development Studies
  • Mass Communication
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Medicine
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Microbiology
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy
  • Physical And Health Education
  • Physics
  • Physiology
  • Political Science
  • Public Administration
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Social Studies
  • Sociology
  • Statistics
  • Surveying And Geo-informatics
  • Telecommunication Engineering
  • Textile Science & Technology
  • Theatre & Performing Arts
  • Urban And Regional Planning
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Water Resources & Environmental Engineering
  • Zoology

ABU Schools And Colleges

  • Business School
  • Division of Agricultural Colleges
  • School of Basic Remedial Studies
  • School of Postgraduate Studies

ABU Centres

  • African Centre Of Excellence In Neglected Tropical Diseases And Forensic Biotechnology
  • Centre For Historical Documentation And Research Arewa House
  • Centre For Energy Research And Training
  • Centre For Special Information Science
  • Centre For Islamic And Legal Studies
  • Distance Learning Centre
  • Gender Policy Unit
  • International Centre Of Excellence For Rural Finance & Entrepreneurship
  • Sustainable Procurement, Environmental & Social Standards Enhancement Centre Of Excellence
  • Centre For Biotechnology Research & Training
  • National Agricultural Extension & Research Liaison Service
  • Physical Planning And Municipal Services


  • Institute of Administration
  • Institute for Agricultural Research
  • Iya Abubakar Institute of ICT
  • Institute of Development Research
  • Institute of Education
  • National Animal Production Research Institute


  • Directorate of Academic Planning and Monitoring
  • Directorate of Public Affairs
  • Directorate of University Advancement

Affiliated Institutions

  • Federal College of Education, Zaria
  • Federal Polytechnic Bauchi
  • Niger State College of Education, Minna

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Admission

To be admitted into the ABU university candidate must meet the NUC requirements for admission into Nigeria University which is as follow:

– Candidate must write and obtain a minimum of five credit pass in SSCE WAEC/GCE/NECO or equivalent with Mathematics and English being compulsory combined with any three other subjects related to the candidate’s desired course of study.

– It is expected that candidates should write and obtain the JAMB cut off mark for Nigerian universities as can be seen here.

– Candidate must sit for Ahmadu Bello University Post UTME and score the specified departmental cut off mark.

By meeting these standards candidates may be admitted into the prestigious university although some criteria can void a candidate from being admitted such as competition in a particular course/department whereby the candidates with higher JAMB and Post UTME scores are admitted first,

So to have a higher chance of getting admitted; higher scores are needed.

Visit the Ahmadu Bello University official website here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *