About Federal University of Agriculture * Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

university of agriculture abeokuta

About Federal University of Agriculture * Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

The Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta as the name implies is one of the three Nigeria government-owned universities of agriculture situated at P.M.B 2240, Alabata Road, Abeokuta, Ogun State in the South Western part of the country.

The University was established in the year 1988 and was approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC) to award degree certifications in undergraduate and postgraduate programmes which will all be listed in this article.

FUNAAB also offers other various programmes such as Pre-Degree Programmes, Cambridge Programmes, and IJMB Programmes.


Currently, the university has 10 Colleges, 1 school of studies, 2 institutes for learning and 1 center of study, and they are listed as follow:

Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta Courses

College Of Agricultural Management And Rural Development (COLAMRUD)

  • Agricultural Economics and Farm Management
  • Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  • Agricultural Administration
  • Communication and General Studies

College Of Animal Science And Livestock Production (COLANIM)

  • Animal Breeding and Genetics
  • Animal Physiology
  • Animal Production and Health
  • Pasture and Range Management

College Of Biological Sciences (COLBIOS)

  • Applied Botany
  • Applied Zoology
  • Biochemistry
  • Microbiology

College Of Engineering (COLENG)

  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering

College Of Environmental Resources Management (COLERM)

  • Aquaculture and Fisheries Management
  • Environmental Management and Toxicology
  • Forestry and Wildlife Management
  • Political Science
  • Water Resources Management and Agrometeorology

College Of Food Sciences And Human Ecology (COLFHEC)

  • Food Science and Technology
  • Food service and Tourism
  • Home Science and Management
  • Nutrition and Dietetics

College Of Management Sciences (COLMAS)

  • Accounting
  • Banking and Finance
  • Business Enterprise Management
  •  Economics
  • Entrepreneurial Studies

College Of Physical Sciences (COLPHYS)

  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Statistics

College Of Plant Science And Crop Production (COLPLANT)

  • Crop Protection
  • Horticulture
  • Plant Breeding and Seed Technology
  • Plant Physiology and Crop Production
  • Soil Science and Land Management

College Of Veterinary Medicine (COLVET)

  • Veterinary Anatomy
  • Department of Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology
  • Veterinary Pathology
  • Veterinary Microbiology & Parasitology
  • Veterinary Medicine & Surgery
  • Veterinary Public Health & Reproduction


Biotechnology Centre


Distance Learning Institute

Institute for Continuing Education


School of Postgraduate Studies

FUNAAB Admission

Admission into any Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta  (FUNAAB) programme and course is according to NUC standards, for example, any candidate seeking admission into the university must possess the minimum O’level requirement which means that the candidate must possess at least five credit passes in WAEC/NECO/GCE or equivalent of which English Language and Mathematics are compulsory for every candidate plus three other relevant subjects to the candidate’s chosen department.

The candidate must choose FUNAAB as his/her first choice university and obtain the minimum JAMB cut off mark of 170.

Having acquired the above candidate is required to register and sit for the current year FUNAAB Post UTME after which he/she must obtain the Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta departmental cut off point for the chosen course although the candidate is expected to score higher to be on the gain side as those with higher scores are attended to first.

The FUNAAB official website is www.unaab.edu.ng

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *